Holes

There is a hole – the hole no one ever likes to talk about. That hole you sense, that knowing that there is something else, that feeling like something is just plain missing.
I think we all look to various things to fill that hole.  Relationships, career, recognition, homes, vacations, pleasure, pain, food, drugs, children, spouses, thrills, adventure, attention, security, stuff, stuff and more stuff ….
I never knew what that hole was or how to even give it a name, I just knew it was always there. And I always sought to fill it …. somehow, someway.
It was not until I met God, Christ, that this hole (which didn’t go away necessarily) was touched and filled in a way that nothing else never did, could, or would.
Something changed.
It seemed to be more than just a passing fancy and stood the test of time, of questions, of trials, of doubt. I began to sense that hole being poured into by something bigger than me. Something bigger than any goal, dream, person or desire. This came in the form of a relationship with a living God.
Truth be known I think that hole will always be there to some degree, at least this side of heaven, for I believe that until I leave this earthly body – that hole reminds me that this place is temporary and until then it keeps me seeking .
The difference now is that I know it calls me to seek Him. It is His beckoning to me.
I think we all feel that void thinking there must be something more, something we are missing …. and I think it is an invitation from God, letting us know that we belong lovingly to Him.  An invitation to seek Him. To let him pour into us. To let him fill that void.
Psalm 16:5
LORD, you alone are my portion and my cup; you make my lot secure.
Romans 5:5
And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.
Leave a Reply

